Daydream No.2 Employee market

As we all know, right now it is the Employer market, meaning the employers are having more control in the labor market. However, the employees will be like the goods on the shelf and waiting to be selected. I have been through the tough time looking for my internship and thesis companies and right now I am facing unemployment problems soon after I graduate from my university. I wish someday the labor market can turn into Employee market. Why it is not happening. Have a look yourself, then you will feel how ridiculous our employers are.

Traditional capitalism drives people crazy and lose their true values. The economy is controlled by human beings not some machines or unknown aliens. No matter is old companies or new start-up ones, they are all trying to find the niche in the market, using all kind of strategies to get the money from the customers’ pocket in a fast pace and in a long-term way. They don’t care about how many young and creative people are freshly educated and ready to contribute to the society. They only care about who can make their system run as soon as possible so they will not waste any cent on waiting for someone to learn! So normally the HR people will make it really difficult for the future candidates. I have been scanned through thousands of job descriptions. The requirements are fascinating. No offence to HR people, but sometimes they work too hard on how to filter out  a lot young but creative people.

  • Job description: a long long stories that makes you understand what is about.
  • About the company: a long long stories to tell you how good they are.
  • Job requirements: a long long list for candidate to figure it out the information above is useless, because I don’t speak more than two languages,; I am not native english speakers, I don’t have more than 3/5/8 years experience in the relevant industry; I am only have bachelor degree; I don’t have a work permit yet.and etc
  • Job benefits: we offer you all the untouchable things, average salaries, and 20 days for yearly holiday.

The management team should really look at all their job descriptions and they will realize how ridiculous it is. Why? Because no one just graduated from university has many years of experience in a specific business or industry. Young people need to have the chance to earn the experience, then when they are 30 years old, they can achieve something they want. How many people have been doing works which are not related to their studies? Until 30 years old, how many of them can actually earn as much as they want. It is the problem everywhere on this earth! Young people have smaller and smaller chance to express themselves to the employers and do what they really want to do. I don’t blame some of the 30ish people who are still miserable and staying with their parents. Some people choose to bend themselves for the employers, but some of them would rather to be wasted. Is that the reasons why all the government try to make people have higher education? The so-called higher education has no value at all.

Unemployment is not caused by economy, but human beings. People start to be spiders and hang on the web all the time. Communicate and judge each other by online media or whatever is on the web. How many people can actually get through the horrible hiring procedures and enter the interview stage? Only few of them. If all the companies are only focusing on earning tons of profit then they are pathetic. Because taking social responsibilities is for show, it should be serious. 21st century capitalism should reflect themselves.  What is the difference between being the best and being the right. The whole society should be connected with each other and care about each other. Be fair! How many crimes the unemployment can cause on this earth. How many people are living a stressful life because of the economic pressure?

Why an employer think they have a higher right to select what they want? Because they are the one who will pay those people. Employers and employees are both human beings. Why would we want to make  our own species to live such a hard life. Back to the old-time, people can get the job with what they learned in the school. Right now what people really need is a chance. A chance to start their career, a chance to learn, a chance to payback what they have sacrificed for the education. In the past, people are more grateful. An employer hired someone knows nothing about the job, but give him/her a chance to learn and after many years, this person contributed great values and had nice working relationship with the employers. This kind of thing won’t happen nowadays. People are driven by the economy. Once they stepped into the capitalism pool, they will lose themselves in most of the cases and can never get out easily.  My family is the live example for me. My aunts, my uncles, my mum, they will never get out of that pool as long as their business ar running.

I am happy I realize some better values in my life rather than focusing on money. Love and friendships are beautiful, families are equally important. I just hope someday employees can have the chance to choose what they really want to do. Or many start from choosing universities. Students don’t have to choose what the economy needs, or the society needs, but what they really like and what they are really born for.

A very nice book to recommend is  Capital in the Twenty-first century from Thomas Piketty. It was recommended by my teacher when I was studying in France. I would say this book give any solutions for the problem the author mentioned, but it makes people to think differently with the Capital situation for nowadays. It is a giant project if we want to reach the best balance in our economy. However, there is something we can start right away. A more creative, various, fair, open-minded way of hiring people; a better company value, a better employment situation can already make a big difference to our society.

As a communication professional, I will must have to  serve for some employers for their greedy needs until I can finally work under my own ethical codes. I don’t want to manipulate people’s mind, but I want to communication with them. I recommend reasonable shopping, but not blind following trends. There are more important messages we should communicate with the customers and the whole public, why choose the ones that has the least value.

I daydream about it all the time, but I don’t know when will it come true. Before that happen, I would like to stick with my own principles and do what I can do and believe in what I believe – Money is not everything!

Published by

Mengyao(Bonita)Wang

I studied communication in The Netherlands, and I would like to share some ideas through writing this blog.

Leave a Reply

